Knee Surgery!

May 14, 2010 at 9:15 pm 6 comments

It has been a whirlwind of a semester since I did my last blog from Jamaica. I’m done with my crazy 7-class schedule and ready for summer! I just got knee surgery two days ago, so I have some time on my hands! I just had a “plica band” removed and some cartilage/ fat pad trimmed in my right knee. To be honest, it’s hurting pretty bad right now but it’s supposed to be getting better each day! I finally got to shower today… so progress in personal hygiene is always good!  It is weird to think that this injury started last fall and then I did an Ironman with the injury, only to amplify everything. And now, here I am. I woke up from surgery to tell the nurses “fun facts” such as “Queen Victoria was the one who had hemophilia”… Totally delirious, but I learned that from a cereal box when I was little! Oh Canada! She thought I was crazy… But anyway, everyone has a good story from when they wake up from anesthesia. Now I’m laying low, watching tons of movies and crutching around. I’m on the road to recovery and cannot wait for the day when I can run again! If anything, this injury has taught me to never take any kind of exercise for granted!!

Day after surgery.. crutches.

The goal! Running again…!

I couldn’t be happier for this semester to be over! I was pretty stressed at times academically, but I got to do some really cool things! In February I went to Vancouver to watch the last week of the Olympics. I went with my family, and being total hockey fanatics, we went to just about every hockey game! The Canada-Russia men’s game was hands-down the best sporting event I have ever been to in my life! It has almost been hard to go to any other events now because that was such an intense game! And the crowd was like nothing I have ever seen- so loud, spirited and it literally makes me smile thinking about it ever time. My brothers and I were hugging every stranger, singing the anthem all day, it was ridiculous and too hard to describe!! I left the morning of the gold medal game to come back to Boulder to watch on TV. I wore my Canada (Crosby, nonetheless!) jersey to school the next day and was practically getting death threats! So the Olympics were cool, very cool, and an unforgettable experience!

With my little brother Luke at the flame

Family at the Canada-Russia Game!

Celebrating Canada’s Victory! A little too much Canadian Pride at this moment..

With my mom and two painted homies at the molson hockey house!

I also went to New York in March to do a photo shoot for Women’s Health Magazine. It was a fitness shoot that will be in the June issue, and another in the July issue (my birth month) so I’m very excited! It was very fun and I’m so happy Wilhelmina hooked that up for me. As soon as I finished shooting I went to visit “Babycakes” a vegan, gluten-free bakery in the city! I have recently been diagnosed with Celiac disease, so I can’t have gluten anymore! It isn’t too difficult in Boulder, but GF baking has become a new hobby and I am a huge fan of babycakes!

Babycakes is a gluten-free, sweet-tooth’s heaven!

In March, I went to LA for springbreak to visit my delightful roommate Chloe. We had a great time at the beach, shopping and exploring the city! I love California so much! Luckily, I will be going there next Thursday to watch the last 3 stages of the tour de California! Well… if guess it depends on if I can walk by then!

Chloe and I cruising to Malibu!

Titanic

Just last week the Triathlete Swimsuit Issue came out and by some miracle I saw myself on the cover! I still cannot even believe it and it was a huge honour ! I think the issue came out very well because it was such a fun shoot and that really shows in the pictures! All of the girls are athletes, incredibly friendly, wonderful people and it was a great experience to work with them! Linda Baltes and Kristina Baskett looked amazing and I know they both have so much potential in the sport and in modeling! I hope there are not too many harsh “letters to the editor” about the issue, even though I have already seen some of the comments. I don’t think anyone can say that our bodies aren’t “real” because I might have set a world record in April by suffering from an intense peanut butter addiction. Not kidding, 9 jars of peanut butter in 12 days. Yes, I’m disgusting… I have gone cold turkey now for the record! So take a look at Triathlete magazine if you come across it!

For now, taking care of my knee and watching the hockey playoffs! Unfortunately, my team the Pittsburgh Penguins are out! I will now be cheering for the only Canadian team left, the Montreal Canadiens… although it won’t be the same! I will be at the tour de California next week and the Tour de France in July! Lots of cycling to get me motivated to get back on my bike… not that I need any motivation really. I’m ready to be back!!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

End of the semester in Jamaica! Tour de France 2010!

6 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Robert  |  May 14, 2010 at 9:35 pm

    Good luck in the recovery! I’ve been dealing with some knee problems of my own lately and have just started back with running/cycling (very very slowly), so I know how you feel. I was going crazy. Enjoy the break for what it’s worth and then put in the same level of effort during physio and you’ll be back on track.

    Cheers,
    Robert

    Reply
  • 2. Rexy  |  May 14, 2010 at 10:37 pm

    OMG! Who knew?! First, sorry about your knee Ryann! but glad to see that your in such high spirits!…. Sometimes you wonder what happens to your old school mates…and its just GREAT to see you are doing all this fabulous stuff!!!! But kinda not a surprise…no one had a nicer attitude than u..so most deserving.
    Canada’s victory was crazy…we partied in the streets ahahaha (Ottawa)….Anyhoooooo take care and Best Wishes on everything!
    Let me know whenever your in this part of Canada :D

    Reply
  • 3. Jhonny Galicia  |  May 15, 2010 at 3:44 am

    Hi!!! Ryann
    Wonderful story, you have done great things, sorry about your knee, during the time it will be fine, youl´ll run again, another Ironman maybe? I already saw Triathlete Magazine, you are great at the cover, congratulation,
    Be patient with your knee, it too shall pass. Good luck!!!

    Jhonny

    Reply
  • 4. Alicia Bockel  |  May 15, 2010 at 9:49 pm

    Hey there sweets. Saw your cover on triathlete and really stoked for you! Pretty amazing!! Hope you are recovering well from your surgery–ouch. When you are in France please let Dirk and I know–we are going to some of the stages for the TdF too so we will have to hook up there. Hope you’re well! Keep kicking butt! Alicia

    Reply
  • 5. Phil Thompson  |  May 16, 2010 at 11:58 pm

    Just be patient with the knee surgery. I’ve been through 3 of them and being patient is the best advice I can give. Great story though, I was actually at the pens game 7. Goodluck with the knee and hope it heals fast.

    Reply
  • 6. Rafael Casillas  |  June 8, 2010 at 2:31 am

    I´m from Mexico but studied in Lethbridge, AB, I loved it! I loved Canada. I started running while I was there and I am training for my first Triathlon.
    Luckily Triathlete magazine is sold in Mexico. I had visited previously your blog but didn´t know you were so famous :)

    I hope you recover quickly, because from past injuries I know how boring it is to be confined to the couch-potato life :)
    All the best

    Rafael

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Ryann on Twitter


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 546 other followers

