Ironman Hawaii with Oakley

October 18, 2010 at 4:21 am 1 comment

I didn’t think that I was going to make it to Kona for Ironman Hawaii this year… I have been living in New York City since September working with Wilhelmina Models, going to castings, meetings and a few photoshoots. It has been extremely busy and I love it! After burning my neck (with a curling iron… which looked like an awful hickey, yes super talented I know) I had to take a small break from work and booked a last minute ticket to Hawaii.  I owe it all to wonderful family friend and Ironman legend Greg Welch. I’m very lucky that he let me stay at the Oakley safe house with the entire crew for the week.

I arrived in Kona just in time for the “Underpants Run” so I could run down Ali’I drive with hundreds of people in their finest undergarments. It is really nice being in Kona and not having the daunting race ahead of you.. Just relaxing in Hawaii. Oakley had a gorgeous property right on the water, fully equipped with Surftech standup paddle boards.. pretty much a dream of mine! Paddled everyday!

On the night before the race, Oakley hosted a luau for the release of their new sport performance sunglasses “Fast Jacket.” The demonstration of their new HDO technology was extremely impressive. I never realized how advanced Oakley is in comparison with their eyewear competitors… After seeing the demo I don’t think that I will ever consider wearing another brand!! The luau was very cool and I felt very fortunate to be at the world release! As the sun was setting they uncovered the new glasses, pulling a black cover off the display. People were crowding around taking pictures and admiring the new design. The night continued in true luau style with hula dancers, fire dancers, good food and good people. I was lucky enough to sport Oakley’s new 2011 active wear at the luau with model Lokelani McMichael. I love their new clothing designs because they’re beautiful and functional… they nailed a very flattering, comfortable fit. I’m already obsessed!

HDO demonstration… see it and you will never want any other sunnies but Oakley.

Fast Jacket

“Display only” but if anyone is going to wear them, its her.. Paula Newby Fraser

There were many times throughout the race that I was happy not to be racing and a few that I wanted to… Kona is such a hard Ironman!! I was definitely happy that I was not in the madness of the swim and safely watching on the pier. There was a lot of anticipation and excitement this year! I had friends racing, a few who were top contenders to win. I spent most of the day out cheering. It was great! The marathon was so exciting! Mirinda Carfrae is unreal… she makes the marathon look easy! I’m stoked she won, a very gracious champion. The aussies dominated this year!!

I was out until midnight with some friends from TYR. I love watching the final finishers coming in at 17 hours, but this time it also brought back a few painful memories of last year. Ironman is a very emotional race, all across the board. It’s something very distinct to the sport.

I remember this mess all too well… eeek

 

One of my favourite Kiwis Janette at the swimstart

Showdown on the Queen K

Homie Dirk Bockel running into 8th. Great race! :)

Mirinda running down Ali’i

The morning after the race, Oakley hosted all the athletes for their “Rehab Party.”  Everyone was totally normal and fine.. after such a tough race. And they were the ones RACING it!  I probably need to man up because I hope to be racing next year and enjoy the parties too!

This was the private dock at the property.awesome.. went stand up paddling from here everyday!

So happy I went to kona this year! It was very fun and it was especially great with Oakley. Thank you guys!!!

Swimming with dolphins one morning

With Katya and Loke at the Kswiss Party on Sunday night. Very fun! Dancing on the beach is always a good way to wrap up a week in kona!

Photo credit goes to Matthew Murray- thanks!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Tour de France 2010! Gluten Free New York City

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Jen  |  October 19, 2010 at 1:37 am

    Hey Ryann, great to meet you (again) and discover our common roots. Great re-cap of a wonderful week in Kona…you did all the relaxing I wanted to do! Take care.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Ryann on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 546 other followers

